LUCAS GOMIERO VALENTE

Age: 32

Qualifications

Crossfit level 1

Athletic background

I only started doing some sort of exercising by the age of 11, as I was a very chubby kid (nearly obese actually). I did swimming for a couple of years, Capoeira for 9 years and moved on to jiu-jitsu for just over a year. Additionally to that, I started working out at a gym when I was 13.

How did you discover CrossFit?

I had a friend here in Sydney who owns a CrossFit gym, and I was bored of “bodybuilding” workouts. So, in 2014 I decided to look for CrossFit back in Brazil and it was love at the first WOD.

What hooked you/ what do you love about CrossFit?

No ego! The community and people at the gym are all encouraging and super friendly. I also enjoy the fact that there is always something to work on – it is a constant journey. Finally, the challenge of a good, hard workout.

Favourite exercise and why?

Thrusters – Don’t ask me why, it is a love/hate relationship.

Something interesting about you?

I have a degree in Environmental Engineering, I know a bit of German and I have an Italian passport. People tend to be surprised when I mention those things.

What do you do for fun?

I love spending time at the beach, hanging out with family and friends and travelling. I am always down for anything, as long as I have good company.

Favourite food?

So many…Just food in general!

Favourite holiday?

So far, Thailand. Went by myself for 14 days – had the tickets to fly in and out, only had the first night of accommodation booked, no itinerary, and the cash on me, as my credit cards got blocked two days before I departed. I made it work, just!

What are your goals and aspirations?

Within CrossFit, improve my OLY. Outside of CrossFit, it is to find a job in sustainability and to do my share to save the planet…it sounds cheesy, I know!

Menu